WnSoft Forums

Creating and Saving a Show

dcjohan

I'm a total newby to PTE and have been trying to create a slide show for the past week with some difficulty. Hopefully someone can explain what I'm doing wrong. For the past several days I have been trying to alter the timing and placement of the slides to sync with the music but until yesterday I have been unsuccesful. What I found out yesterday is that, at least on 3 boxes in which I've installed ver 4.43, two win2k and one xp, after I've made ANY change, I have to, in order, save the file using save as, exit the program completely, and then restart the program. Doing anything else results in no changes being saved. I find this to be very frustrating and am wondering why this is.

And another frustration. After compiling the show on my Win2K box, I tried playing it from both the box and off a CD onto which I had copied it. Ran smoothly to completion just as advertised. I took it into work today and ran it on three different boxes, one 2K and two XP. On both XP boxes the program was very difficult to start, but when it finally happened, by having to shut down EVERYTHING running on them, the program played to completion but there were several instances where slide "y" would start to load, then jump backwards to slide "x", the after re-showing it jump back to slide "y", show it briefly, and then move forward again. This was random and happened 4-5 times during the show. However, the last slide and music synced properly by the end. On the Win2K box the music ran to completion and was finished by roughly slide 150 of 228. Slides kept dissolving after that but not to any music. I find this all very interesting although XP misbehaving is no surprise, but the Win2K is a bit unusual.