WnSoft Forums

Rotated Pics

dagrace

First off, I just started playing with V5 beta #3, after being away from PTE for way too long. Igor, it's brilliant! My mind is racing with all the ideas I have and how to implement them. Spectacular! :D

I've noticed something that may not even be related to PTE at all. It might be a "system" thing.

I have a Canon digital camera which has the "auto-rotation" feature enabled, so that when I rotate the camera 90 to take a "vertical" pic (portrait vs landscape) the pic shows up in Photoshop as vertical, not layed on its side.

When I grab it off the thumbnail page and drag it or "add" it to the slide list, it looks correct. But when I run the slide show, it's horizontal (landscape).

As an experiment, I opened the original in Photoshop (where it looked portrait) and did a "save as" with no other modification. When I look at them in the PTE thumbnail view, they both look the same. But when I drag them both into the show, the original is landscape and the copy is portrait.

I've taken plenty of portrait (vertical) shots before, and don't remember having this problem. But I can also admit I've probably never taken the original image into a slide show without resizing it, (or sharpening, color balancing, etc.) so that's always been a "save as" copy.

It makes me think that perhaps Photoshop is recognizes the EXIF data that says the image is rotated, but other programs do not.

I almost always work with copies anyway, but that's another step in the workflow to say "save all vertical shots, regardless of any other modifications." Is there a setting in PTE that I'm not recognizing? :huh:

Thanks again for a great product and a wonderful forum with very clever folks. :)

David

You are right David, my camera also has this facility to automatically change from portrait to landscape. I always turn it off!

Mixing portrait and landscape shots in a PTE slide show never produces a professional result in my opinion.

Ron