WnSoft Forums

First Post and it's a HELP!!!

tassie

Hi

I am brand new to all of this and have had a struggle to get this right. And I think I'm still doing something wrong.

I read all posts and managed to finally get my slideshow onto DVD. But the quality is horrible. How can I get the DVD quality to match the quality of the EXE?

TIA

Hi Tassie,

The quality shouldn't be "horrible" but you can't match the quality of the executable file unless the executable is only about 800x600 resolution. DVD shows are typically designed to run on PAL or NTSC television receivers which have low resolution and generally a different aspect ratio than computer monitors. An executable show with PicturesToExe will produce resolution equal to the original images or your display system, whichever is lower. Unless you have a very high resolution screen display (the highest right now available is a bit over 9 megapixels and very expensive) you can expect something in the neighborhood of 1600x1200 on normal high resolution settings. This is much higher than can normally be achieved on a DVD played back on TV so the best solution is to get the quality on the DVD up to the standards of the television receiver you play the slideshow on. In addition, typical DVD quality output is 29.97 frames per second interlaced while executable output can be as high as 60 frames per second progressive.

To do this there are two approaches. First is to use one of the supported programs such as Ulead DVD Movie Factory, etc., and output an AVI template using the techniques described elsewhere on this forum and let the program burn the DVD. The other alternative is to use the "Create Custom AVI" and choose a good codec such as Microsoft Mpeg 4 Video Codec. Once the AVI is created then use a program such as Nero or Roxio to burn the DVD.