WnSoft Forums

Excessive Noise

kplebras

When I load JPEG images into the PicturesToEXE program, some of the images appear with excessive noise (similar to very large grain on a wet-film image). When the images are viewed on other programs (Nikon Picture Project, Nikon Capture NX, PowerPoint), all the images are silky smooth. Each image file is large (about 5mb), but reducing the size of the image does not make an appreciable difference in quality. Also, there does not seem to be any consistency in which images display the noise (e.g., original ISO, etc). I'm new to this program, and was wondering if I'm doing something wrong. Has anyone else had this problem? Thanks,

Paul Lebras

Hi Paul,

If you would post a link to one of the images which appear very noisy in PTE I will be glad to test it for you and see if there is something unique about the image causing this problem.

It's not a problem I've ever seen before and I can not think of any reason why PTE should treat the image any differently than other programs. PowerPoint isn't useful to compare because it resizes the images in terms of file size and definitely softens them which would ameliorate noise but Nikon Capture, IrfanView, PhotoShop, etc., return pretty much what is in the image as does PTE. The quickest way to determine what is going on is to post a link to one of the originals at full original size and some of us can test it quickly and perhaps get to the bottom of your problem.

Best regards,

Lin