WnSoft Forums

automatic slide aspect ratio

brianloss

I'm new to PTE and haven't been able to find a way to do this... I would like to build one exe slide show that I can give to anyone. I would like the images to be scaled (maintaining the image aspect) to fill the screen. If my PC monitor is, say, a 16:10 aspect ratio, I can choose that as the slide aspect ratio in project options and (along with the default "fit to slide" option) get the behavior I want when I view the show on my 16:10 monitor. However, if I take the same slide show and run it on a monitor that is 4:3, some of the slides have black on all sides because they are scaled to fit into a 16:10 slide area which is then scaled to fit in a 4:3 screen area. What I would like is an "automatic" option when choosing the slide aspect ratio. When the exe is run, I would like it to detect the aspect ratio of the current monitor and make that be the slide aspect ratio. This way, all of my images would fill the screen (in at least one dimension anyway) no matter what monitor they are viewed on. It seems right now, my only choice is to make several versions of my slide show and tell people to download the one that matches their monitor. That doesn't seem very portable to me, not to mention difficult to explain to non-technical people.

Am I missing something? Is there already a way to do this? Thanks for any info you have...

SkiBum,

To the best of my knowledge there is no 'automatic way' of doing what you ask. Even domestic TV Sets

have to be set manually to show the default Program in its origional Image Format. The same applies to

Digital Camera's and Projectors and advanced PC Video Cards.

I note that your TV Format is 16:10 ~not Standard 16:9~ the best compromise for 4:3 and 16:9 ratio's

is actually 4:5, so in fact you already have the best compromise.

Brian.Conflow.

SkiBum,

To the best of my knowledge there is no 'automatic way' of doing what you ask. Even domestic TV Sets